

# March 19, 2025 at 1PM Open Session Minutes

Greater Attleboro Taunton Regional Transit Authority (GATRA)
Advisory Board Meeting
Taunton City Hall
Silver City Conference Room, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor
15 Summer Street, Taunton, MA 02780
and
Zoom

## 1. Open Session Convenes

Vice Chair Mayor DeSimone called the meeting to order at 1:02PM. Mayor DeSimone welcomed new Board Designees from Plymouth and Pembroke. A roll call attendance was taken. The following board members were present:

(remote)
Carver (1.63), Connie Kelly (remote)
Dighton (1.16), Anabela Powell
Foxborough (2.39), Catherine Feerick
(remote)
Franklin (3.63), Cobi Frongillo (remote)
Halifax (1.23), Cody Haddad (remote)

Attleboro (5.51), Mayor Cathleen DeSimone

Kingston (2.01), Patti Waitkevich (remote)
Mansfield (2.85), Kevin Dumas (remote)
Marshfield (3.10), Greg Guimond (remote)
Medway (1.98), Courtney Riley (remote)
Norfolk (2.27), Karen Edwards (remote)

The following board members were absent: Bellingham (2.63), Josie Dutil Duxbury (2.28), Joanne Moore Hanover (1.98), Tammy Murray North Attleboro (3.31), Tony Morabito Norton (2.14), Alec Rich Pembroke (2.57), Diane Picot (remote)
Plainville (1.30), Brenda Watkinson
Plymouth (5.44), Lindsay Reik (remote)
Plympton (1.19), Colleen Thompson
(remote)- arrived at 1:11PM
Raynham (2.08), Erin Medeiros (remote)
Rehoboth (1.21), Elizabeth Doyle (remote)
Scituate (2.35), Linda Hayes (remote)
Seekonk (2.14), Brittney Faria (remote)
Wareham (3.26), Alan Slavin (remote)
ADA Advocate (1.00), Michael Raymond
(remote)

Berkley (1.39), Krista Celia Lakeville (1.60), Lori Fahey Middleboro (2.83), Mark Germain Taunton (5.60), Mayor Shaunna O'Connell Wrentham (1.94), Janet Angelico

Also present:

Mary Ellen DeFrias, Dan Burgess, Kylie Araujo

10 Oak Street, 2nd Floor, Taunton, MA 02780-3950 Phone (508) 823-8828 • Fax (508) 824-3474 • TDD (508) 824-7439



# 2. January 15, 2025 Open Session Minutes

Mayor DeSimone, Attleboro reminded the Board that they can still vote on the minutes even if they were not present for the meeting as long as they have reviewed them.

A motion was made and 2<sup>nd</sup> to approve the January 15, 2025 Open Session Minutes. A roll call vote was taken.

Attleboro (5.51), Mayor Cathleen DeSimone- aye Carver (1.63), Connie Kelly- aye Foxborough (2.39), Catherine Feerick- aye Franklin (3.63), Cobi Frongillo- aye Halifax (1.23), Cody Haddad- aye Kingston (2.01), Patti Waitkevich- aye Mansfield (2.85), Kevin Dumas- aye Marshfield (3.10), Greg Guimond- aye Medway (1.98), Courtney Riley- aye

Norfolk (2.27), Karen Edwards- aye Plainville (1.30), Brenda Watkinson- aye Plymouth (5.44), Lindsay Reik- aye Raynham (2.08), Erin Medeiros- aye Rehoboth (1.21), Elizabeth Doyle- aye Scituate (2.35), Linda Hayes- aye Seekonk (2.14), Brittney Faria- aye Wareham (3.26), Alan Slavin- aye ADA Advocate (1.00), Michael Raymondaye

#### Motion to approve January 15, 2025 Open Session Minutes passed.

### 3. Administrator Report, Civil Rights Report, & Financial Report

Mary Ellen DeFrias reviewed the March 2025 Administrator Repot. Mary Ellen noted that there is a lot of uncertainty at the federal level, including no current Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Administrator. Mary Ellen has visited Washington, D.C. on several occasions for legislative conferences and has advocated for funding for Regional Transit Authorities. At this time, GATRA is planning on level funding next year's budget due to uncertain state and federal funding projections. GATRA is also pausing any further electrification of its fleet. GATRA will continue to utilize and maintain the electric vehicles in the fleet, but will purchase diesel buses moving forward until more guidance from the state and federal governing bodies comes down. Mary Ellen also reviewed the March 2025 Civil Rights Report. GATRA will continue to monitor what it will and will not be responsible for as executive orders are rolled out at the federal level.

Dan Burgess reviewed the March 2025 Financial Report. He noted that with now seven (7) months of data, trends developing. For example, demand response and microtransit expenses will need budget amendment in the future, likely at the next meeting.

A motion was made and 2<sup>nd</sup> to approve the above-stated reports. A roll call vote was taken.

Attleboro (5.51), Mayor Cathleen DeSimone- aye Carver (1.63), Connie Kelly- aye Dighton (1.16), Anabela Powell- aye Foxborough (2.39), Catherine Feerick- aye Franklin (3.63), Cobi Frongillo- aye Halifax (1.23), Cody Haddad- aye Kingston (2.01), Patti Waitkevich- aye Mansfield (2.85), Kevin Dumas- aye Marshfield (3.10), Greg Guimond- aye

10 Oak Street, 2nd Floor, Taunton, MA 02780-3950 Phone (508) 823-8828 • Fax (508) 824-3474 • TDD (508) 824-7439



Medway (1.98), Courtney Riley- aye Norfolk (2.27), Karen Edwards- aye Plainville (1.30), Brenda Watkinson- aye Plymouth (5.44), Lindsay Reik- aye Raynham (2.08), Erin Medeiros- aye Rehoboth (1.21), Elizabeth Doyle- aye Scituate (2.35), Linda Hayes- aye Seekonk (2.14), Brittney Faria- aye Wareham (3.26), Alan Slavin- aye ADA Advocate (1.00), Michael Raymondaye

# Motion to approve the above-stated reports passed.

#### 4. Fiscal Year (FY) 26 Budget Draft

Mary Ellen introduced the first draft overview of the FY26 budget. As mentioned in the Administrator's Report, the budget is planned to be level funded in FY26 from FY25. By the May Advisory Board meeting, Mary Ellen is hoping to have more clarity on funding expectations and also provide more details to the draft of the FY26 budget. The only changes between the FY25 and FY26 budget numbers are that Blue Apple Bus funding for their pilot program is coming to an end and local assessments are adjusted based on projected local assessment numbers for FY26.

#### 5. Executive Compensation Committee Confirmation

Mayor DeSimone reviewed that the Executive Compensation Committee (ECC) meets annually to review the performance and compensation of the Administrator. Below are the current members, all who are willing and able to serve again this year. Following the ECC meeting, the Committee will present their recommendations at the next Board meeting for a full Board vote.

Joanne Moore, Duxbury Tammy Murray, Hanover Kevin Dumas, Mansfield Mayor Shaunna O'Connell, Taunton Alan Slavin, Wareham

A motion was made and 2<sup>nd</sup> to approve the Executive Compensation Committee as outlined above. A roll call vote was taken.

Attleboro (5.51), Mayor Cathleen DeSimone- aye Carver (1.63), Connie Kelly- aye Dighton (1.16), Anabela Powell- aye Foxborough (2.39), Catherine Feerick- aye Franklin (3.63), Cobi Frongillo- aye Halifax (1.23), Cody Haddad- aye Kingston (2.01), Patti Waitkevich- aye Mansfield (2.85), Kevin Dumas- aye Marshfield (3.10), Greg Guimond- aye Medway (1.98), Courtney Riley- aye Norfolk (2.27), Karen Edwards- aye Plainville (1.30), Brenda Watkinson- aye Plymouth (5.44), Lindsay Reik- aye Plympton (1.19), Colleen Thompson- aye Raynham (2.08), Erin Medeiros- aye Rehoboth (1.21), Elizabeth Doyle- aye Scituate (2.35), Linda Hayes- aye Seekonk (2.14), Brittney Faria- aye Wareham (3.26), Alan Slavin- aye

10 Oak Street, 2nd Floor, Taunton, MA 02780-3950 Phone (508) 823-8828 • Fax (508) 824-3474 • TDD (508) 824-7439



ADA Advocate (1.00), Michael Raymondaye

## Motion to approve the Executive Compensation Committee passed.

## 6. Adjournment

A motion was made and 2<sup>nd</sup> to adjourn the meeting. Mayor DeSimone asked all those in favor of adjourning. The vote was unanimous in favor of adjourning the meeting.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 1:14PM.

# **Documents & Exhibits Discussed in this Meeting:**

- 3.19.25 GATRA Advisory Board Meeting Agenda
- 1.15.25 GATRA Advisory Board Open Session Minutes
- March 2025 Administrator's Report
- March 2025 Civil Rights Report
- March 2025 Financial Report
- FY26 Budget Draft